Volleyball: 12 players invited for Olympics qualifiers

CELEBRITIES CELEBRITY NEWS Entertainment Features Lifestyle NATIONAL Press Release Sports WORLD NEWS

The Nigeria Volleyball Federation has released the list of 12 female invited players for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic qualifiers in Cameroon between January 2 and 9.

The list which was released in a statement signed by the Chairman, Media & Publicity of the NVBF, Kehinde Lamidi, has two Japan-based players Mesomachi Ugochinyere and Deborah Oyiku.

Others are captain Theresa Okonmah, Sharon Achi, Happy Washilang, Sandra Ozabor, Albertina Francis and Jummai Bitrus all of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps.

Esther Ahua and Eunice Stephen of the Nigeria Customs Service are also in the squad, which also  includes  Ijeoma Ukpabi and Rafiat Mustafa.

The team will be coached by Ajayi Samuel, who will be assisted by Gloria Peters.

President of the NVBF Musa Nimrod urged the invited players to make the nation proud by winning the sole ticket from the zone.

Nigeria are drawn alongside hosts Cameroon, Kenya, Egypt and Botswana.

The team will travel for the tournament on Thursday (tomorrow) via Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport, Abuja.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *