South Africa imposes travel ban on US, UK Nationals

South African government has imposed a travel ban on nationals of the US and UK due to coronavirus pandemic.

The ban also extends to Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany and China — countries the South African government listed as “high-risk”.

The country has also cancelled visas previously issued to nationals of the “high risk” areas.

South African President, Cyril Ramaphosa , in an address on Sunday, said the ban will be effective from March 18.

He said, “We are imposing a travel ban on foreign nationals from high-risk countries such as Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United States, the United Kingdom and China as from 18 March 2020.

“Visa issuing to visitors from these countries is cancelled from today and previously granted visas are hereby revoked.

“Effective immediately, South African citizens are advised to refrain from all forms of travel to or through the European Union, United States, United Kingdom and other identified high-risk countries such as China, Iran and South Korea.

“Government will continue to regularly issue travel alerts referring to specific cities, countries or regions as the situation evolves based on the risk level.

“Any person who has visited high-risk countries in the past 20 days will be denied a visa. South African citizens returning from high-risk countries will be subjected to testing and self-isolation or quarantine on return to South Africa.”

The president said travellers from medium-risk countries such as Portugal, Hong Kong and Singapore will be required to undergo “high intensity” screening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *