Senate confirms ex-Service Chiefs as Ambassadors [Update]

Breaking News

The Senate has, on Tuesday, confirmed the nomination of the immediate past service chiefs as non-career ambassadors.

The former service chiefs were appointed as non-career ambassadors-designate a week after they were relieved of duties and replaced with new officers.

The affected service chiefs are:

Former Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin,
Former Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Tukur Buratai
Former Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas.
Former Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar, and,
Former Chief of Defence Intelligence, Air Vice Marshal Mohammed Usman.

It could be recalled that President Muhammadu Buhari had, on February 4, nominated the immediate past service chiefs of the nation as ambassadors.

This was contained in a statement issued by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina.

According to Adesina, President Buhari forwarded the names of the nominees to the Senate as non-career ambassadors-designate.

In a letter addressed to the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, the President was quoted as saying:

“In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.”

President Buhari appealed to the Senate to give expeditious consideration to the nominations.

Addressing the newly confirmed former officials, President of the Senate, Senator Ahmad lawan urged the former service chiefs to serve the country to the best of their abilities.

In his concluding statement, Senator Lawan urged the Executive to utilise their experiences as much as possible and they should be posted to countries where they will be useful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *